The shortlist of competition nominees

On February 15, 2016 the Expert Council formed the shortlist of competition nominees and the Jury chose the laureates in out-of-competition nominations

The Expert Council of the 11th All-Russian competition in contemporary visual art INNOVATION 2015 met at the National Centre for Contemporary Arts (NCCA) on February 15, 2016. A shortlist of nominees in a total of four nominations has been formed as the result of a discussion and voting by Expert Council members. Due to the fact that the NCCA declined the application to enter Peter Pavlensky’s work The Threat in the “Visual Art Work” nomination, three Expert Council members left the Council: Ilya Dolgov, artist, co-founder of the Voronezh Centre for Contemporary Art; Dmitry Ozerkov, art critic, curator, head of the Contemporary Art Department at the State Hermitage and Anna Tolstova, art critic, author at Kommersant Publishers. The remaining members of the Expert Council have reached a decision not to hold voting in the “Visual Art Work nomination” due to the refusal of Peter Pavlensky’s application.

NCCA Director General Mikhail Mindlin: “According to the competition regulation, the organizers have the right to decline any application for entry. We have declined to enter a work by Peter Pavlensky, The Threat, in the “Visual Art Work” nomination. In this case, it became obvious that during the creation of said work certain actions were undertaken, leading to financial and physical damage and breach of the law. The refusal of this application is unrelated to professional judgment. Entering a work that led to a breach of the law in a competition organized by a public organization and held under the aegis of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation was deemed unacceptable by us. As a result of the discussion, following our decision to decline Peter Pavlensky’s application for entry, the Expert Council has decided not to hold voting in this nomination. Thus it has been decided not to give an award in the “Visual Art Work” nomination this year. We are very sorry that other artists’ works entered in this nomination will not be able to compete".

Works in other nominations:

“Curatorial Project” nomination:
Viktor Misiano. Elective Affinities. In the frame of the interdisciplinary project “The Human Condition”
Kirill Svetlyakov, Nikolai Smirnov. Science advisor – Dmitry Zamyatin. Metageography: Space – Image – Action
The Unbound Group. “The Caucasus” Pavilion
Irina Petrakova, Ivan Novikov, Mikhail Klimin, Matvey Krylov, Nikolai Saprykin, Ilmira Bolotian, Leta Dobrovolskaya, Vitaly Barabanov. Artist run space “Red”
Anna Zhurba. The East: Deconstruction 

“New Generation” nomination:
Aslan Gaisumov. Volga
Polina Kanis. The Pool
Evgeny Granilschikov. The War (Unnamed)
Leonid Tskhe. Neopetersburg
Yan Tamkovich. A Large Scale Exposition

“Regional Project of Contemporary Art ” nomination:
Alisa Prudnikova. 3rd Ural Industrial Biennial of Contemporary Art
Alisa Savitskaya and Vladislav Efimov with Ksenia Anufrieva, Elena Belova, Evgenia Strelkova and Olesya Filatova. High Hopes Museum 
Alisa Bagdonaite, Vera Glazkova, Natalia Levdanskaya. Rebels Territory
Yana Malinovskaya, Mikhail Lylov. Observations of the Open Space
Elena Kolovskaya, Alisa Prudnikova. 13th Contemporary Art at the Traditional Museum Festival

“Art, Theory and Criticism” nomination:
Olga Shishko. Projections of the Avant-garde
Viktor Miziano. Impossible Community. In 3 volumes: Escape, Impossible Community, Anthology
Alexander Shaburov. B.U. Kashkin (1935 – 2005): The Life and Art of Ural Punk Skomorokh
Furkat Palvanzade, Denis Drachev, Maria Terekhova, Marina Simakova, Ilya Budraitskis, Maria Kramar, Andrey Shental. The 6th Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art Blog
Gleb Ershov. The Artist of universal flowering: Pavel Filonov
The INNOVATION 2015 Jury has overwhelmingly voted to give the following two awards in out-of-competition nominations:
“For the creative contribution to the development of contemporary art” – Boris Orlov, artist
“For the support of Russian contemporary art” – Leonid Mikhelson, collector, donor, founder of the V-A-C Foundation
The nominees’ works will be exhibited at the National Centre for Contemporary Arts (NCCA) from April 1 to June 13, 2016.

Latest news of INNOVATION Prize

© National Centre for Contemporary Arts (NCCA). Developement [artinfo]. Design [Andrei Velikanov]